Franciscan monastery and church in Malacky
This unique monument was originally a Renaissance chateau. Paul IV. Pálffy, however, rebuilt the chateau as a Franciscan monastery and invited the Franciscans to come there. He built a church, too. These works began in 1647 and already five years later did the Franciscans have their own monastery. It was completed in 1653 and consecrated by the Čanád bishop Thomas Pálfi in December 1660. The church is connected with the monastery via corridors and choir. The main nave is built in Baroque style, with chapels on the sides and a sanctuary with the main altar in the front.
As soon as a visitor enters the church, they will immediately notice the main altar. It dates back to the first half of the 18th century and it is made of wood and richly gilded. The monastery had its own school - a grammar school that operated here in the first half of the 20th century, one of the most prominent schools in Czechoslovakia. Like the temple, the monastery is also consecrated to the Immaculate Conception of Virgin Mary as shown by the central theme of the rear decorative part – an over life size statue of the Virgin Mary.
In the temple, there is the main altar and three side altars. In 1723, two of them were donated by the wife of Leopold Pálffy, Countess Antonia Maria de Souchés. During the First World War, the church lost its bells and tin pipes from the organ. In the southwest part of the church is the chapel of the Holy Stairs, symbolizing the steps leading up to Pontius Pilate on which Jesus Christ walked in Jerusalem.
Mon - Sun: during worship